Free Case Review
Phillips Dayes FacebookPhillips Dayes TwitterPhillips Dayes Linkedin
Contact an Attorney

Under Alaska state overtime laws, non-exempt employees who work longer than a 40-hour work week or an 8-hour workday are legally entitled to pay at a rate of 1.5 times their regular hourly rate. As the minimum wage in Alaska is currently $7.25 per hour, this means that Alaska employees who are not exempt are entitled to at least $10.88 per hour for all overtime hours. Because Alaska overtime laws can be quite complex, it is not uncommon for workers in Alaska not to be aware that they have been illegally denied overtime pay. The employment lawyers at PC have written page on Alaska overtime laws to help employees in this state understand their rights.

Alaska Overtime Labor Laws

What type of employees are entitled to overtime pay?

To understand Alaska’s overtime labor laws, it is important to understand how employees are categorized in the workplace. There are two types of employees in the workplace-“exempt” and “non-exempt”. What is the difference between these two types? The most significant difference is the pay for overtime work. Exempt employees by definition means they are not entitled to receive overtime pay.

The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) requires employers to pay at least minimum wage for up to 40 hours in a work week and overtime pay for any additional time worked unless the employee falls into the exception category. If the employee is categorized as exempt, their employer is not required to pay them overtime pay. Alaska overtime labor laws are very similar to these federal laws in that the following types of workers are not entitled to overtime wages:

  • Professionals
  • Administrators
  • Executives

Alaska’s overtime laws also state that these additional types of workers may also not have the right to overtime wages:

  • Certain workers in farming or agriculture
  • Outside sales professionals who set their own hours
  • Independent contractors
  • Employees whose workplace is also their residence
  • Transportation workers

Free Consultation-Wage and Overtime Claims

Under Alaska overtime pay law, there is a two-year statute of limitations for overtime lawsuits filed in this state. This means that employees whose overtime labor lawsuits in Alaska are successful may be awarded back pay for overtime wages illegally denied them for up to two years before the date on which their legal claim was filed. The overtime laws are complex, vary by state, and have unique employment situations. Finding the right law firm and a experienced overtime attorney can make a significant difference in not only how your case is handled, but in the ultimate result- the amount of compensation recovered from your claim.

If you believe that you may have a wage claim for unpaid back overtime or would like to get more information from an experienced overtime attorney please contact Phillips Dayes Law Firm to schedule a free Alaska overtime pay lawsuit consultation at no cost to you.

Latest Post

How To Prove Hours Worked? Track Your Hours

Are you not receiving your full compensation for hours worked in your paycheck? Are you tracking your hours?...

New Overtime Laws – coming to an employer near you!

The Department of Labor recently change the rule on if you should be paid overtime or paid a...

Fort Irwin “Role Players” Filed Suit

The Desert Dispatch reported the following:   Posted Jan. 3, 2016 at 11:14 AM LOS ANGELES — Role...