Free Case Review
Phillips Dayes FacebookPhillips Dayes TwitterPhillips Dayes Linkedin
Contact an Attorney

Although Arkansas state overtime laws dictate that all non-exempt workers in the state must be paid for hours that exceed a 40-hour work week at a rate not less than 1.5 times their regular hourly wage, every year many Arkansas employees are illegally denied the overtime pay they have earned. Even worse, a large number of these employees are not even aware when they have been cheated because Arkansas state overtime laws are complex and may be difficult to understand. Since Arkansas state minimum wage is $6.25, workers must be paid at least $10.88 for every hour of overtime they log. The employment lawyers at Phillips Dayes Law Firm have written this Arkansas state overtime law overview to help workers in Arkansas know more about their rights.

Arkansas State Overtime Exemptions

The Arkansas state laws that regulate overtime pay are very similar to the federal overtime laws outlined in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Both sets of laws state that employees who fall into the following categories are exempt from overtime pay:

  • Professionals
  • Administrators
  • Executives

Per Arkansas state overtime laws, the following additional types of workers may not be guaranteed overtime pay:

  • Independent contractors
  • Outside sales reps
  • Live-in employees
  • Certain transportation industry employees
  • Some agriculture and farm workers

Free Arkansas Overtime Lawsuit Consultations

Based on a general lack of knowledge regarding the details of Arkansas state overtime laws, individuals who suspect they have been wrongfully denied overtime pay would be well-served to enlist the support of an experienced overtime lawsuit attorney. There is a two-year statute of limitations on Arkansas overtime lawsuits, so employees stand to collect back pay for overtime wages illegally denied to them for a full two years prior to the date on which they file a claim. If you would like to know whether your right to overtime pay guaranteed by Arkansas overtime laws was violated, contact an overtime attorney from Phillips Dayes Law Firm to schedule a free consultation.

Latest Post

How To Prove Hours Worked? Track Your Hours

Are you not receiving your full compensation for hours worked in your paycheck? Are you tracking your hours?...

New Overtime Laws – coming to an employer near you!

The Department of Labor recently change the rule on if you should be paid overtime or paid a...

Fort Irwin “Role Players” Filed Suit

The Desert Dispatch reported the following:   Posted Jan. 3, 2016 at 11:14 AM LOS ANGELES — Role...