Free Case Review
Phillips Dayes FacebookPhillips Dayes TwitterPhillips Dayes Linkedin
Contact an Attorney

Per New Hampshire state overtime laws, non-exempt employees must be paid at a rate of no less than 1.5 times their normal hourly rate (“time-and-a-half”) for every hour that exceeds a 40-hour work week. Currently, the minimum hourly wage for employees in New Hampshire is $7.25, which means that non-exempt workers must earn at least $10.87 for each hour of overtime. At Phillips Dayes Law Firm, our national employment lawyers know that a lack of understanding of New Hampshire state overtime laws has caused many employees to be unaware that they have been illegally denied the overtime pay to which they are entitled. We have provided this overview of state overtime laws to help New Hampshire workers better understand their rights.

New Hampshire Overtime Labor Laws

What type of employees are entitled to overtime pay?

To understand New Hampshire’s overtime laws, it is important to understand how employees are categorized in the workplace. There are two types of employees in the workplace- “exempt” and “non-exempt”. What is the difference between these two categories? The most significant difference is the pay for overtime work. Exempt employees by definition means they are not entitled to receive overtime pay.

The FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act), requires employers to pay at least minimum wage up to 40 hours in a work week and overtime pay for any additional time worked unless the employee falls into the exception category. If the employee is categorized as exempt, their employer is not required to pay them overtime pay. Alaska overtime labor laws are very similar to the federal laws. Under both laws, the following types of employees are exempt from overtime pay in New Hampshire:

  • Administrative
  • Executive
  • Professional

New Hampshire’s overtime laws also state that these additional types of workers may also not have the right to overtime wages:

  • Transportation workers
  • Independent contractors
  • People who live and work at the same address
  • Some agriculture and farm workers
  • Outside sales workers who set their own hours

Free Consultation- NH Overtime Laws and Claims

Under New Hampshire’s overtime pay laws, there is a two year statute of limitations for overtime lawsuits filed within the state. This means that workers who have been illegally denied overtime pay may be able to collect back pay for up to two years prior to the date they file their claim. The overtime laws are complex, vary by state, and have unique employment situations. Finding the right law firm and a experienced overtime attorney can make a significant difference in not only how your case is handle, but in the ultimate result- the amount of compensation recovered from your claim.

If you believe that you may have been denied overtime pay or would like to get more information from an experienced overtime attorney please contact Phillips Dayes Law Firm  to schedule a free legal consultation.

Latest Post

How To Prove Hours Worked? Track Your Hours

Are you not receiving your full compensation for hours worked in your paycheck? Are you tracking your hours?...

New Overtime Laws – coming to an employer near you!

The Department of Labor recently change the rule on if you should be paid overtime or paid a...

Fort Irwin “Role Players” Filed Suit

The Desert Dispatch reported the following:   Posted Jan. 3, 2016 at 11:14 AM LOS ANGELES — Role...