Free Case Review
Phillips Dayes FacebookPhillips Dayes TwitterPhillips Dayes Linkedin
Contact an Attorney

New Mexico state overtime laws mandate that employers pay all non-exempt employees at a rate of 1.5 times their regular hourly rate for all hours worked over a 40-hour work week. The current minimum wage in New Mexico is $7.50 per hour, so this means that employees must earn a minimum of $11.25 for all overtime hours. As a result of a general lack of knowledge regarding New Mexico state overtime pay laws, many employees in New Mexico are not even aware when they are legally denied overtime pay. To help the workers of New Mexico protect their rights, the employment lawyers at Phillips Dayes Law Firm have written the following overview of New Mexico state overtime laws.

New Mexico State Overtime Exemptions

New Mexico state overtime pay laws are very closely modeled after the federal standards for overtime pay outlined in the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act). Under both New Mexico state laws and federal laws, the following types of employees in New Mexico are exempt from, or not entitled to, overtime pay:

New Mexico State Overtime Exemptions

New Mexico state overtime pay laws are very closely modeled after the federal standards for overtime pay outlined in the FLSA (Fair Labor Standards Act). Under both New Mexico state laws and federal laws, the following types of employees in New Mexico are exempt from, or not entitled to, overtime pay:

  • Administrators
  • Executives
  • Professionals

While this part of New Mexico overtime pay exemption law is fairly standard, the following additional types of employees also may not be entitled to overtime pay in New Mexico:

  • Independent contractors
  • Outside sales workers who set their own hours
  • Some agriculture and farm workers
  • Workers in the transportation industry
  • Employees who reside and work at the same location

Free New Mexico Overtime Lawsuit Consultations

The statute of limitations for overtime pay lawsuits in New Mexico ensures that plaintiffs in overtime pay lawsuits may collect back pay for up to two years prior to the date on which they filed their lawsuit claim, but it often takes the experience and resources of an employment lawyer to ensure cheated workers recover the full compensation to which they are entitled. If you believe your right to overtime pay as a non-exempt Colorado employee has been violated, we encourage you to contact a highly regarded overtime lawyer from Phillips Dayes Law Firm to schedule a free legal consultation.

Latest Post

How To Prove Hours Worked? Track Your Hours

Are you not receiving your full compensation for hours worked in your paycheck? Are you tracking your hours?...

New Overtime Laws – coming to an employer near you!

The Department of Labor recently change the rule on if you should be paid overtime or paid a...

Fort Irwin “Role Players” Filed Suit

The Desert Dispatch reported the following:   Posted Jan. 3, 2016 at 11:14 AM LOS ANGELES — Role...